About Us

Directors and Management

Mr David Yu Chen, Non-Executive Chairman

Mr Chen has over 15 years of corporate experience, having served as Chief Executive and Board member for companies listed both on US and Chinese stock markets. He founded Huashan Capital in 2009 to specialise in cross border investment transactions in the resources sector. His investment experience includes the establishment of a listed special purpose acquisition fund and venture capital investments. He has served as an independent director at Zhonglu Group, a Shanghai Stock Exchange listed diversified investment holding company, and serves as a director at SmartLink Ltd, a leading mobile payment service provider in China of which he is a lead investor. Mr Chen is currently the Vice Chairman and President of Hengxing Gold, a Hong Kong Stock Exchange listed gold mining company. 

Mr Yan Liu, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director

Mr Liu, has over 17 years of accounting and corporate advisory experience in China and Australia. Mr Liu was the Chief Financial Officer with AIM listed China Rerun Chemical Group Limited, a China-based lubricant oil company and a partner of Agile Partners, the financial advisory company based in China. Previously, Mr Liu was the Financial Controller at Legalwise Seminars Pty in Australia and he spent 8 years at Chinatex Corporation where he worked in project management positions. Mr Liu holds a Bachelor degree in Economics from Central University of Finance and Economics, China, and a Master degree in Commerce from the University of New South Wales, Australia.


Mr Zhiwei (Kerry) Gu, Non-Executive Director

Mr Gu, is an experienced corporate lawyer, who has worked with numerous companies seeking listing approval on various stock markets including Chinese A share, NASDAQ, TSX and HKSE. He is currently a partner of Dacheng Law Offices, the largest law firm in China. Mr Gu has participated in several Venture Capital and Private Equity investment cases by various funds, such as London Asia Fund, Warburg Pincus, Korea Development Bank, China Venture Investment Co, and China Cinda AMC.  During his time with China National Gold Group Corp., Mr Gu was in charge of mineral resource M&A activities. Mr Gu holds a LL.B. from the Jilin University in China; a LL.M. from the Northeast University in China; and a Master of Applied Finance from the Macquarie University in  Australia. Mr Gu is a qualified lawyer and securities practitioner in China.


Ms Juan (Kiki) Wang, Non-Executive Director

Ms Wang is currently an investment manager at Anterra Energy Inc. where she is responsible for Chinese investor liaisons. Prior to joining Anterra she was manager of corporate mergers and acquisitions at Land Ocean Energy Services Co. Ltd. Ms Wang has a commercial banking background, having previously worked for Deutsche Bank and Bank of East Asia.

Mr Nick Beattie, Chief Financial Officer

Mr Nick Beattie has over twenty years of experience in finance working with a range of international banks. Most recently he was a Managing Director in the BNP Paribas Upstream Oil and Gas team in London where he was responsible for leading the bank relationships with UK focused independent E&P companies. Nick has approximately ten years’ experience specifically financing the E&P sector and whilst at BNP Paribas, he structured and led numerous reserve based loans, development financings and other debt facilities. Prior to working with BNP Paribas, Nick worked as a Director within the Oil and Gas finance team at Fortis Bank covering Europe, Middle East and Africa and in a variety of roles with National Australia Bank Group. Nick is an Associate Member of the Association of Corporate Treasurers and a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Bankers in Scotland.

Mr Walter Cukavac, Trinidad Chief Operations Officer

Geologist and geophysicist with over 17 years experience in the growth and development of onshore projects in Trinidad, which includes organizing the first 3D seismic acquisition onshore Trinidad, initiation of the first waterflood EOR project by an independent operator, and drilling over 250 wells.

Professor Tong Xiaoguang, Technical Advisor to the Board

Prof. Tong Xiaoguang has worked in numerous positions within China National Petroleum Corporation since 1964. His main expertise is in the area of petroleum basin geology and exploration. With his innovation in understanding the rules of hydrocarbon accumulation, he has made a great contribution to the discovery of many oil and gas fields.  Prof. Tong, as the chief pioneer of overseas petroleum E&P activities for China, was appointed as Vice President and Chief Geologist in 1993, Senior Advisor in 2002 of China National Oil and Gas Exploration and Development. He has performed extensive studies on petroleum geology, hydrocarbon potential, investment environment, evaluation methods and technology of new venture oil projects for many countries around the world.  Prof. Tong holds numerous China National Science and Technology Innovation Awards. He also won several provincial and ministerial level awards. In 1986, he was awarded the title of "China National Young Expert with Distinguished Contribution". In 2005, he was elected member of Chinese Academy of Engineering.